Earlier in the week we watched as the tragic events unfolded with the four Americans who were kidnapped in Mexico. Many were already terrified of traveling to certain places and now with even more vigilance, we question where we should and should not go in the future. Places that perhaps at one time were popular tourist attractions may now be 'no travel zones.' The U.S. Department of State is one website that you can check on a regular basis. They do a great job of updating the list of do not travel warnings.

Are you familiar with these areas? With Spring Break just days away, and many families and couples currently planning a summer vacation, it may not be a bad idea to look over this long list as a precautionary measure. The U.S. Department of State has issued a “do not travel” warning for parts of Mexico.


Here is the list that comes straight from The U.S. Department of State website,

Do NOT travel to Colima state, Guerrero state, Michoacan state, Sinaloa state, Tamaulipas state or Zacatecas state. 

They also advise that you 'reconsider travel' to Baja California, Chihuahua and Durango state, Guanajuato, Jalisco, Morelos and Sonora state and are advised to exercise extreme caution in these and the following states:

  • Aguascalientes
  • Chiapas
  • Coahuila
  • Hidalgo
  • Mexico City
  • Nayarit
  • Nuevo Leon
  • Oaxaca
  • Puebla
  • Queretaro
  • Quintana Roo
  • Veracruz

For a complete list of do not travel areas and advisories, visit the website of The U.S. Department of State here. 

These Girls From Texas Went Missing In February

These girls from Texas went missing in February. Let's bring them home.
B93 logo
Get our free mobile app

More From B93