Is It Against The Law To Go 5 MPH Over The Speed Limit In Texas?
Have you ever been driving and thought to yourself, it's no big deal if I go 5 miles over the speed limit? Right? I mean it's only 5 miles per hour. Is there a 5-mile-per-hour GRACE ZONE when driving? What does the law here in Texas say about it?
• IT IS AGAINST THE LAW TO GO 5 OVER THE SPEED LIMIT IN TEXAS!
According to Texas Speeding Laws Explained...
Breaking the speed limit has harsh consequences in the state of Texas. Driving even one mile over the posted speed limit can result in receiving a speeding ticket. A driver that is convicted of speeding in Texas is subject to paying court costs plus a fine
• THERE IS NO GRACE FOR SPEEDING OVER THE SPEED LIMIT EVEN BY 1 MPH!
According to Stephens Law Dot Com ...
Texas law doesn’t give drivers any grace when it comes to speeding.
Can you go 5 over the speed limit in Texas? Exceeding the speed limit is a violation of Texas speeding laws, regardless of whether it’s by one, five, ten, or 50 miles per hour.
• CAN YOU BE FINED AND GIVEN A TICKET FOR GOING 5 OVER THE SPEED LIMIT?
Yes, you can be given a citation for going 5 mph over the speed limit here in Texas. Here are some examples of fines for different cities in Texas (fines will vary from Texas city to Texas City)
- Houston- 1 - 5 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $224 fine
- San Antonio(Bexar County)- 0 - 10 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $185 fine
- Dallas- 1 - 10 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $201.10 fine + fees
- Austin- Speeding costs $10.00 per mile over the limit + $107.10 in court costs/strong>
• GO THE SPEED LIMIT AND STAY SAFE!
So, YES even going 1 mph over the speed limit is against the LAW in Texas. Obey speed limit signs and stay safe on Texas highways and roads!